The wonder of strawberries

Strawberries are back on the menu and life is better for it!

For some weird twisted eating disordered reason strawberries were always a ‘not allowed’ food. I think it was part of me liking them and therefore they were considered a treat that I was not allowed. 

However, this summer brings strawberries as a snack/dessert and I’m enjoying them nearly everyday! Plus they’re grown in the UK so I don’t have environmental flying fruit guilt. 

I wonder what other foods I had miscellaneously banned which might turn out to be amaxing?!

12 thoughts on “The wonder of strawberries

  1. Pingback: The wonder of strawberries — My quiet roar | My little simple thought

  2. I know exactly what you mean about strawberries – they are far too nice to be ‘allowable’ but in fact you can enjoy eating loads of them without worrying at all! My next challenge is a trip to a fruit farm and then making jam 🙂 Enjoy the summer while it lasts! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s exciting! Jam is still an unsure for me but maybe not if I made it myself….my friend makes her own, maybe I shall try it before the summer is out- that would be a great goal! Keep me posted on yours!

      Like

  3. So happy for you! This is great. I remember being hospitalized for my bulimia, and I refused to eat pasta (since it was a food I used to love, so I categorized it as something automatically bad.) Now I eat it at least once a week! 🙂

    Keep it up! The road to recovery is always a long and difficult one, but I see you’re strongly fighting through 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah yes, I have pasta penance too, but I can now eat it in restaurants funnily enough, and at home on a good day, and sometimes it does just hit the spot. The road is long but it is actually fun sometimes finding foods to pick up along the way!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. hurrah! I love strawberries too 🙂 they’re a fave on my menu. I’m also big into cherries and they’re in the markets at the moment – do you like cherries? nom nom !!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Literally everything that is not on my meal plan is on the banned list, sigh. I gave that list to my nutritionist so that perhaps one day we can start adding things in. I am one of those people who is happy eating the same thing over and over and over. honestly, I could eat what is on my meal plan, with no variety, for the rest of my life. I know, somehow, that probably isn’t rational and yet, that is where I am right now.

    When I was in South Korea, they had the biggest, juiciest strawberries I ever saw. We were in tents and used to keep them at the edge since it was cold like a refrigerator. I did eat them back then and your post has brought back those pleasant memories. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had the same thing about lack of variety, I could make about 5 meals from the 10 ingredients or so I was allowed and I was happy with it, but I’ve been expanding lately and although it scary it is true that the more you eat things the less scary they become. At the moment some things come with guilt but there are a few things that have made the leap from banned list to treat list to safe list, I just had to be patience and persevere, but life is better with toast and milk in my tea and yoghurt and strawberries I’ve decided!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

