Getting back up after a knock 

Tuesday was a hard day, and while I felt a little better yesterday I did hide in bed all day and throw routine out of window. It perhaps wasn’t the best idea but I just had no capacity for anything else so I just gave myself the day to feel down but on the understanding that today I would get back to it.

I don’t really feel like embracing the world today but I’m going to do it anyway. I know what helps me so I need to implement it even if it feels hard. 

  • I got up with my alarm
  • I made a proper lunch and snacks
  • I had a pre-run breakfast and prepped my 2nd breakfast
  • I’m going for a run now
  • I chose a nice outfit rather than defaulting to safe baggy clothes
  • I’ve written a manageable to-do list for the day
  • I’m meeting a friend after work even though I feel like hiding
  • I have planned a proper dinner

The drop from feeling great to being down is always a rough one, but I need to accept my brain doesn’t always play ball with me and that this will happen. What matters is my reaction to it. A knock like this could have previously taken me weeks to come out, but I know more now and I know that it won’t happen without effort. 

I’m drawing on all the great strength I find through you lovely blogging people, and sending you all good vibes for anything you’re facing today x

2 thoughts on “Getting back up after a knock 

  1. Hope you enjoyed the run! Your list is brilliant 🙂 taking care of yourself even when you don’t feel like it – gathering courage and summoning the energy and going ahead with it – is what living a free and meaningful life is all about – you deserve that care and freedom and it’s inspiring to read about you making those choices xx I’m having breakfast and prepping a snack and decent lunch to get me thru work today and then going for a quick sea dip before work if there’s time ! X hugs and respect and purrs from Lucia and me xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

