Not my pain

The last few days (maybe weeks) have been rough. I myself am doing fairly well but there are other people around me who are not- and it’s them who things have been rough for. It’s not my place to blog about it- they are entitled to their privacy of course-but there is a little bit of me that finds it hard to just sit back and watch. 

I have invested so much energy the last while in helping myself that it’s easy to forget that not everyone can, that other people can suffer and not want to take the same path I am. I was one of those people once- not wanting to share/talk/whisper anything about what was going on in my head. I have no judgements, they need to do what they need to do, there are where they are, but I just wish I could magic away their bad times and make everything better. I wish I could take their pain away but I know I can’t.

The best thing I can do is keep to structured eating and keep myself well so I can be there if I ever am needed. I can’t control how others feel, but I can control how well I am. So even though their sadness make me sad, I still have to keep moving forward. Just another lesson for recovery I guess!

One thought on “Not my pain

  1. Absolutely! I found that all I can do is share my experience, strength and hope – the path that I took to get recovered. Everyone has their own path. When I was sick, I could read all the blogs and articles in the world but I simply wasn’t desperate enough to do whatever it took to get better. I always had one foot in the problem so that I could continually confirm I was a terrible person. That desperation had to be enough to be willing to change me, not just my behavior. Funny because I wrote a little about this in my most recent post.

    I try to let my life be an example and that motivates me to continue living the solution rather than allowing myself to slide backwards. In helping myself I am helping others. That is exactly what you are saying too. Kudos to you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

