Missing my support

I was meant to have a counsellor appointment today but it was cancelled, and can’t be rescheduled for another 3 weeks.

I’m disappointed and I hate that I’m disappointed. I don’t like feeling like I want someone to talk to, as then when I don’t have the chance it upsets me. I’ve been off form all day since I found out.

I have goals I was working on so I know I need to keep going with them, and I know I’ll be okay, I’m just a bit down about it. I really am grateful to get all the support I can, and I do have my blog and other friends to get support from, but I just really wanted to talk some stuff out today with my counsellor. But that’s life, these things happen, and I’ll have to figure out how to go it alone at some point, so will try to get out of my funk about it! 

9 thoughts on “Missing my support

  1. *hugs* I’m glad you have goals that you are working on and I hope that you continue to make progress in the gap before your appointment 🙂 You got this !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You can get through it! It’s great to see that you are at least aware you want someone to talk to. I remember getting therapy for my eating disorder the first time around after getting diagnosed, and I stopped going after a couple months because I didn’t think I needed it. Sadly, I didn’t even realize I actually DID need someone to talk to, even if I didn’t feel like talking to anyone at the moment, and ended up relapsing. It’s awesome to see that you are aware of your feelings and the help you want. Great read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re right- it has taken me a long time to get to the point of wanting the help, rather than just needing it. I will try to reframe my disappointment as a positive rather than a weakness – thanks for the perspective!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the comment, it has made me think about something- with my recovery goals I never see them as successes- one of my goals is to eat lunch at work everyday, but I never feel good for doing this, there is always a bit of me that feels it’s the wrong thing/weak thing to be doing (Ed talking!). With all my other life/work/sport goals I get a buzz from achieving them, but with therapy goals I just don’t. No wonder recovery is so hard when even when you’re fighting for it, part of you is fighting against it. Thanks for making me think!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Here I am butting in on your comment to say that eating lunch at work is a Good and a Strong and Brave thing (I know because I also have the ED telling me that I don’t need/deserve/shouldn’t eat lunch) it take guts to eat lunch at work!!! (late night ED humour) x

        Liked by 1 person

  3. aw rats, I’d be disappointed too if my counselling was cancelled at short notice. I’m just getting back into the rhythm of counselling and while I was away I was like, oh nice, I’ll be able to talk about all this in therapy !! so if mine was cancelled too I’d be like NOOOOO! I’m a bit wary of being dependent or letting myself be dependent on people sometimes, so it is certainly challenging when these things happen… I hope you can be kind to yourself however you’re feeling xxx big hugs Em

    Like

Leave a Reply

