Quote Challenge

The lovely El from a different life included me in a three day quote challenge. Now, as I’m trying out the challenge of no challenges (see previous post on my destructive need to set challenges) I’m not going to fully participate, but I wanted to share one quote that’s been on my mind recently.

“After they had explored all the suns in the universe, and all the planets of all the suns, they realized that there was no other life in the universe, and that they were all alone.  And they were very happy, because then they knew it was up to them to become all the things they had imagined they would find”

It’s from the play 5th of July, but I came across it elsewhere athough I can’t remember where- it’s just in my quote notebook which is now about 20 years old!

I’ve been thinking about it recently as it makes me think that along the lines of me  exploring all the means of self destruction, and all the ways that I needed to prove I was good enough, and to have considered all the external influences, but to then realise that actually I am just who I am, and that I’m enough just as I am right now. This might not make sense, it’s hard to explain!

Anyway, I’d love to read what other quotes people have in their minds at the moment!

 

4 thoughts on “Quote Challenge

  1. Hey I love this – nice quote too – I feel like I’ve heard it before but haven’t seen or read the play – was it quoted in “Find Me” by Laura van den Burgh?? Here’s my choice for today from Roxane Gay’s Ted talk
    “I had writing. And there, I wrote myself back together. I wrote myself toward a stronger version of myself. I read the words of women who might understand a story like mine, and women who looked like me, and understood what it was like to move through the world with brown skin. I read the words of women who showed me I was not nothing. I learned to write like them, and then I learned to write as myself. I found my voice again, and I started to believe that my voice is powerful beyond measure.

    Through writing and feminism, I also found that if I was a little bit brave, another woman might hear me and see me and recognize that none of us are the nothing the world tries to tell us we are.” Roxane Gay TED talk

    Like

    1. I love love love love love this quote, thanks for sharing! “I read the words of women who might understand a story like mine” is how I feel about blogging! And sometimes writing does put me back together! Also I’m reading ‘the outrun’ and loving it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yay me too!!! That’s why I picked it 🙂 it totally captures how I feel about blogging ! I’m so glad you’re loving The Outrun, somehow reading her struggle with craving and managing things “one day at a time” and how she was open about how hard it was sometimes, it really helped me feel respect for the strength it takes to keep going… Ed and alcoholism are different enough that I didn’t find it triggering but I felt compassion for her and myself…

        Like

      2. Yeah I’m not finding it triggering, I’m reading it thinking wow that sounds like such hard work for her, to still wish to drink but resist it everyday. I found myself thinking ‘well at least it’s not that bad if I skip a meal or purge etc. It’s not like I can’t ever do it again like she can’t ever drink again’ but then I realised that actually that exactly what I need to be doing, choosing recovery every time, not letting even a little bit stay. That hit home a bit, seems like a mountain to climb, but it’s just one step at a time, one good decision at a time.

        Like

Leave a Reply

